Advertiser Disclosure

Many of the credit card offers that appear on this site are from credit card companies from which we receive financial compensation. This compensation may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). However, the credit card information that we publish has been written and evaluated by experts who know these products inside out. We only recommend products we either use ourselves or endorse. This site does not include all credit card companies or all available credit card offers that are on the market. See our advertising policy here where we list advertisers that we work with, and how we make money. You can also review our credit card rating methodology.

British Airways Boeing 777-200 Club World Review [UVF to GND]

Daniel Ross's image
Daniel Ross
Daniel Ross's image

Daniel Ross

Senior Content Contributor

629 Published Articles 1 Edited Article

Countries Visited: 56U.S. States Visited: 17

Daniel has loved aviation and travel his entire life. He earned a Master of Science in Air Transport Management and has written about travel and aviation in publications like Simple Flying, The Points...
Edited by: Jessica Merritt
Jessica Merritt's image

Jessica Merritt

Editor & Content Contributor

82 Published Articles 463 Edited Articles

Countries Visited: 4U.S. States Visited: 23

A long-time points and miles student, Jessica is the former Personal Finance Managing Editor at U.S. News and World Report and is passionate about helping consumers fund their travels for as little ca...
& Keri Stooksbury
Keri Stooksbury's image

Keri Stooksbury

Editor-in-Chief

29 Published Articles 3093 Edited Articles

Countries Visited: 45U.S. States Visited: 28

With years of experience in corporate marketing and as the Executive Director of the American Chamber of Commerce in Qatar, Keri is now Editor-in-Chief at UP, overseeing daily content operations and r...

We may be compensated when you click on product links, such as credit cards, from one or more of our advertising partners. Terms apply to the offers below. See our Advertising Policy for more about our partners, how we make money, and our rating methodology. Opinions and recommendations are ours alone.

Airline: British Airways
Aircraft: Boeing 777-200
Flight #: BA2159
Route: St. Lucia (UVF) > Grenada (GND)
Date: April 9, 2022
Duration: 30 minutes
Cabin and Layout: BA Club World, 2-4-2
Seat: 1A
Cost: 9,750 Avios + £25 (~$28) in taxes and fees

That’s right, you can island hop around the Caribbean by flying British Airways. 

I’d long wanted to try out one of these fifth-freedom flights since I heard about their existence. So, when planning a trip around the Caribbean, I made sure my itinerary included trying it out.

It just so happened that after spending time visiting my friend Audrey in Martinique, the best way to get to my next destination of Grenada was via St. Lucia and a flight on one of BA’s intra-Caribbean hops.

Awkward schedules and flight times not matching up meant that I had to stay the night in St. Lucia after flying into its northern George F. L. Charles Airport (SLU) in Castries (which serves flights only from other Caribbean islands).

The next morning, I hopped in a cab and headed south to the island’s main international airport.

British Airways’ Intra-island Routes in the Caribbean

The British flag carrier operates a small network of intra-island routes using its Boeing 777-200 aircraft based at London Gatwick Airport (LGW).

SCROLL FOR MORE
DepartureArrival Start/End dateFrequency
Antigua (ANU)Grenada (GND)October 30, 2022 to March 19, 2023Sundays
Antigua (ANU)Providenciales (PLS)Ends October 28, 2022Thursdays and Sundays
Antigua (ANU)Punta Cana (PUJ)Ends October 28, 2022Mondays and Fridays
Antigua (ANU)St. Kitts (SKB)Year-roundWednesdays and Saturdays
Antigua (ANU)Tobago (TAB)Ends March 24, 2023Mondays and Fridays
St. Lucia (UVF)Grenada (GND)Year-roundWednesdays and Saturdays (and Sundays from March 23, 2023)
St. Lucia (UVF)Port of Spain, Trinidad (POS)Ends March 24, 2023Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, and Sundays

On these fifth-freedom routes, airlines (in this case, British Airways) are permitted to take onboard paying passengers in a foreign country and take them onwards to another foreign country.

Booking British Airways Club World

As is always the case with British Airways, you can either use cash or redeem Avios to book flights with the airline.

I decided that for this trip I would put some of my Avios to good use.

I had no trouble finding an award seat through ba.com as there was wide-open availability for dates throughout March and April 2022.

Amount of Avios for a BA flight from St. Lucia UVF to Grenada GND
Amount of Avios for a BA flight from St. Lucia (UVF) to Grenada (GND).

I was presented with 5 different options ranging from 15,500 Avios + £4.50 (~$5) to just 5,750 Avios + £67.50 (~$75).

Going off of Upgraded Points’ current valuation of 1.25 cents per Avios, the middle option of 9,750 Avios and £25 (~$28) gave me the best value.

For context, paying cash for the same ticket would set you back a cool £500 (~$557).

Hewanorra International Airport

Long road trips in St. Lucia are not recommended. After a bumpy and nauseating 2-hour taxi ride from Rodney Bay, I arrived at a very busy departures area at Hewanorra International Airport.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World St Lucia UVF Airport
Arrival curbside at St. Lucia’s Henowarra International Airport.

It wasn’t immediately clear which queue was for what as there were people everywhere.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF queues
People queueing everywhere.

I beelined straight for the British Airways check-in desks as soon as I spotted them through the crowds. En route, I came across small signs for 2 airlines I’d never heard of before — Mustique Airways and SVG Air. I’ll have to add them to my “to-fly” list.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF rare airlines
Mustique Airways and SVG Air are both private charter airlines operating in the Caribbean.

Checking In

I doubted that my short fifth-freedom hop to Grenada would have been busy, but I didn’t expect check-in to be void of any other passengers when I arrived.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF BA check in
Just me, then.

The check-in agent quickly got about her task of checking me in. The conversation was minimal, but by this point, I’d become accustomed to this when traveling through airports in the Caribbean.

Thanks to my business class ticket, I was entitled to 2 bags at 70 pounds each which meant I didn’t have to worry about paying for extra weight.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF checked bag
Flying in business class makes overweight bags a thing of the past.

Passing Through the Airport

After dropping off my bag and receiving my boarding pass, I headed to wait in the long queue for passport control.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF immigration queue
The queue for passport control.

I had plenty of admin to do to help pass the time as I was required to fill out a departure form for St. Lucia and an arrival form for Grenada.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF immigration forms
So. Much. Admin.

The queue slowly weaved its way through the other side of the door where a surly officer at 1 of the 4 booths took my forms and stamped my passport without saying a word or even making eye contact.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF immigration desks
The queue for passport control continued.

There was barely an empty seat left in the house in the departures area.

It was a busy afternoon at UVF, with several flights departing around the same time to destinations mainly in the U.S.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF terminal
Busting at the seams.

Before heading to find the lounge, I did a quick lap of the tiny space, popped my nose into one of the tourist-trap shops, and found a great vantage point to get a quick snap of this JetBlue Airbus A321 that was being readied to get some vacationers back to New York (JFK).

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF JetBlue at the gate
Luggage being loaded onto a JetBlue aircraft.

The Caribbean has to be one of my favorite locations for capturing up-close-and-personal shots of aircraft when boarding and deplaning.

I was so glad I had lounge access, as the terminal was just so busy.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF busy terminal
A busy afternoon at St. Lucia’s UVF airport.

Signage for the lounge is located above a door post-security right next to the repacking area.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF security and lounge entrance
The entrance to the airport’s only lounge.

Iyanola Executive Lounge

My visit to the Iyanola Executive Lounge would be my first-ever Caribbean lounge experience, so I had no idea what to expect.

To be honest, I was impressed that the airport even had a lounge.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF Iyanola Executive Lounge
Entrance to the Iyanola Executive Lounge.

In a place of pride on the countertop at the lounge reception was this to-scale model of the very British Airways 777 aircraft that I was about to fly. I’ve been an avid collector of model aircraft for as long as I can remember, so this was a welcome sight.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF Iyanola Executive Lounge BA model aircraft
I think I have one of these exact models at home.

Priority Pass is accepted here should you be flying through on an economy ticket and want to relax in relative peace and quiet before your flight.

Hot Tip: Priority Pass is a subscription-based airport lounge membership that provides access to more than 1,400 lounges around the world including over 90 lounges and restaurants across the U.S. Fortunately, there are many credit cards with Priority Pass as a complimentary benefit.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF Iyanola Executive Lounge Priority Pass
You can get access to the Iyanola Executive Lounge in St. Lucia (UVF) using a Priority Pass.

The decor and furniture of the first room I entered gave me retirement home vibes. Maybe that’s why it was so empty?

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF Iyanola Executive Lounge seating
A vibe.

Of course, the busier side of the lounge was where the bar and the free drinks were located.

I quickly grabbed the only free seat and settled in.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF Iyanola Executive Lounge bar area
The bar area.

I snapped the above photo at a brief moment when a few passengers left to board their flight after it had been announced over the loudspeaker (a rarity in airport lounges these days).

For the remainder of my time in the lounge, every seat was taken at pretty much all times.

It didn’t take a close inspection of the space to come to the conclusion that it was screaming out for refurbishment (according to Priority Pass, this lounge actually is now temporarily closed due to refurbishment works).

This place had seen better days — I think even the most experienced upholsterer would struggle to get this armchair looking in tip-top condition.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF Iyanola Executive Lounge shabby seating
Well past its expiry date.

A table became available that was higher and more suited to eating, so I darted across to the other side of the lounge.

The lovely gentleman who was taking orders informed me of the menu of the day, which consisted of the following:

  • Pumpkin soup
  • Cheese and tuna sandwich
  • Corn dog
  • Spaghetti with turkey sauce
  • Banana muffin

The thought of neither the spaghetti with turkey sauce nor the corn dog set my taste buds alight, so I went for the pumpkin soup and a cheese and tuna sandwich — a rogue combination given the hangover I was nursing.

While they might not appear all too appetizing, I have to say, both dishes exceeded my low expectations.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF Iyanola Executive Lounge soup and sandwich
Pumpkin soup and a cheese and tuna sandwich.

The same lounge attendant who took my order mentioned to some guests within earshot that there was also mac and cheese on the menu.

Either it was a new item or I just didn’t hear it the first time. Either way, I felt obliged to try it given that the majority of you who read this review are probably from the U.S. Mac and cheese is your equivalent of our fish and chips, right?

I took 1 bite, washed it down with a glass of very sweet Prosecco, and left the rest.

I’m no mac and cheese expert, but I wouldn’t hurry to sample the Iyanola Executive Lounge’s version.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF Iyanola Executive Lounge mac and cheese and Champagne
The first, and probably the last, time I’ll have Prosecco with mac and cheese.

I spent the rest of my time in the lounge chatting with an American couple who’d just been on a twin-center adventure in Peru and St. Lucia. Danielle and Garrick, if you’re reading this, thank you for keeping me company. It was a pleasure to meet you and chat about all things points and miles.

Boarding at St. Lucia

Boarding was announced at 3:37 p.m. well in advance of our scheduled departure time of 4:25 p.m.

When I arrived at the gate and there was nobody else ahead of me again, I was convinced that I was the only person boarding the flight to St. Lucia.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF BA boarding area
Boarding for just me rather than groups 1, 2, and 3.

I loved the retro signage at the gate that would need to be changed manually.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF boarding gate 6
Boarding to Grenada from gate 6.

I flashed my boarding pass and passport, headed out onto the apron, and was shown in the direction of a covered walkway that would lead me to the Boeing 777-200 bound for Grenada.

ritish Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF walking to plane
I spy with my little eye.

It was here that I saw fellow Grenada-bound passengers for the first time.

ritish Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF waiting to get the all clear to board
Waiting patiently to board.

We were asked to wait a few minutes in this sheltered area before being allowed to cross the tarmac and head up the sets of stairs leading up to the forward 2 doors of the aircraft.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF boarding via steps
Was it just me, or at first glance do the stairs look like life rafts?

It felt surreal to be so far away from home and be boarding a British Airways jet that wasn’t headed back to London.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World UVF view on boarding
British Airways always feels like home.

Onboard British Airways’ Boeing 777-200

We were ready to go nice and early and pushed back at 4:08 p.m.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World Delta taking off
A Delta Boeing 737 rotating out of St. Lucia (UVF).

Wheels left the ground 4 minutes early at 4:21 p.m. and we were soon soaring high above the Caribbean.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World 3 windows
Bye-bye, St. Lucia.

Given the short duration of the flight, the captain informed us that the maximum altitude that we’d reach during the flight would be just 12,000 feet.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World views over Caribbean
A maximum altitude of just 12,000 feet meant clearer views of the islands.

Club World Seat

Seat 1A would be my home for the next short 30 minutes. The 8-wide rows of BA’s old-school Club World mean the space around the seats is quite narrow. That said, the seats still offer enough room for stretching out.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World seats lack of privacy
What the seats lack in width, they make up for in length.

With the middle partitions lowered, it’s possible to see passengers sitting right across the cabin a whole 5 seats away from me.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World view from seat
Peekaboo.

The least private part about the seats is during takeoff and landing. The partitions have to remain lowered, which means passengers see their neighbor face-on during these times.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World seat view
There’s no avoiding looking straight into the eyes of your neighbor during take-off and landing when traveling in BA’s Club World.

Rest assured that BA’s newer Club Suite, complete with a sliding door, scores much higher in terms of privacy.

The tray table could be unlatched from the central console just underneath the IFE screen. While it’s not pictured here, the table is large enough to fit both my laptop and my meal tray comfortably.

It folds in half in the middle, making it easier to get in and out of the seat.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World seat space
Bi-folding tray table for easy egress.

The seats don’t come with much storage either. The small drawer at my feet was just about big enough to fit my travel wallet, a set of BA headphones, the amenity kit, and a small bottle of water.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World seat storage
Storage drawer.

Club World Cabin

The business class cabins of British Airways’ Boeing 777-200s that operate its network of intra-Caribbean flights feature the old Club World product.

It comprises 32 seats in just 4 rows in a 2-4-2 configuration. To put that into perspective, most other airlines’ wide-body business class cabins are far less cramped with the most common configuration being 1-2-1.

BA also operates Boeing 777-200 aircraft with up to 48 seats in Club World which are usually found on routes with a higher business class demand than for predominantly leisure routes such as St. Lucia.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World cabin
View from the middle of row 1 looking towards the rear of the small Club World cabin.

The rear-facing middle 2 seats of each row (E and F) are best for couples or friends traveling together.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World cabin branding
Seats E and F in each row are positioned so that traveling companions can sit side-by-side.

Bottom Line: British Airways’ Club World cabin is (finally) being phased out and replaced by the airline’s most modern business class product: the Club Suite. Check out just how much better the new seat and cabin are by reading about my experience flying the Club Suite from New York (JFK) to London (LHR) in April 2022.

Food and Beverage

Unfortunately, there would be no meal service on this short hop to Grenada. Passengers who had boarded the plane at Gatwick would have already been served at least 1 full meal and a snack before we joined them in St. Lucia.

I was, however, offered a welcome drink of Champagne, which it would have been rude to turn down.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World welcome drink
No business class flight is complete without a glass of bubbles.

Amenities

For many a frequent British Airways flyer, the IFE screens in Club World are 1 of the biggest pain points after the lack of privacy and tight 2-4-2 configuration.

To start with, the screens pop out from the central console, which is perpendicular to the direction that passengers are facing. As such, screens must be stowed back in their locked position for take-off and landing which means gate-to-gate entertainment isn’t possible.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World IFE screen
BA’s old-school Club World IFE screens.

I find BA’s library of entertainment to usually offer something that I’d be interested in watching. For this flight, I left the moving map on my screen for the duration.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World IFE moving map
The moving map.

Over my left shoulder were the remote control for the IFE and a USB and headphone port.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World IFE screen and USB port
The remote control and USB and headphone ports.

Club World passengers who boarded at London Gatwick (LGW) would have all been given an amenity kit from The White Company. This is the same amenity kit that passengers flying BA’s newer Club Suite would receive.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World amenity kit
BA’s business class amenity kit by The White Company.

The amenity kit contained all the usual suspects: a dental kit, ear plugs, an eye mask, flight socks, some miniature toiletries, and a pen.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World amenity kit contents
Contents of the amenity kit.

Wi-Fi wasn’t available.

Cleanliness

The unsightly state of the business class cabin on this aircraft was laughable.

I get that the aircraft had just landed from a long-haul flight from London, but I’d be surprised if the crew weren’t expected to do at the very least a quick tidy-up in the 30+ minutes it had been on the ground before new passengers boarded in St. Lucia.

The more I ponder it, I think I might have been the only passenger who was daft enough to pay for (well, use Avios for) a Club World ticket. If that was the case, then I can understand that spending a lot of time clearing the place up just for me would not have been a priority for the crew.

Nevertheless, used bedding from previous passengers was left on seats.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World cabin mess on seats
Used bedding left on seats.

Storage trays were left open and full of other people’s rubbish.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World cabin messiness
Storage trays filled with rubbish.

Worse still, either there had been no cleaning whatsoever before we new passengers boarded at St. Lucia, or they just did a terrible job. The aisles and floor space around many of the seats were covered in crumbs and all sorts of other debris.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World cabin floor dirt
Nothing a quick hoover couldn’t have fixed.

I think the same crew member who handed me my welcome drink saw me taking pictures as he made a last-ditch attempt to get the cabin cleared up a bit.

I took this as reassurance that maybe I wasn’t being too harsh and that this cabin would not have been presented in the way that a British Airways superior would have been happy with.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World cabin mess
Crew member doing a last-minute tidy-up.

I’d like to take a moment here just to say that for me, this doesn’t bother me. I was hopping on a plane for 30 minutes and was quite happy to be doing so on a British Airways plane in the first place.

However, as this is a review, it’s up to me to give you, the reader, as many honest and accurate details about my experience as I possibly can so that you are well-informed when researching your travels.

Bathroom

Situated right at the front of the cabin were the 2 bathrooms for the use of business class passengers only.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World bathroom
The standard bathroom selfie.

Thankfully, the level of cleanliness in the bathroom was far superior to the cabin.

British Airways also uses The White Company as the supplier of the inflight amenities for its business class lavatories.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World bathroom amenities
Bathroom amenities by The White Company.

Service

There’s not a lot to report in terms of service.  With an inflight time of just 30 minutes and no meals served, there wasn’t much opportunity for interaction with the crew.

The 1 crew member I spoke with at boarding did go out of his way to make sure I had a welcome drink before taking off. He also handed me an amenity kit, which I don’t think is usually handed out to passengers joining the aircraft for these short intra-Caribbean hops.

Arrival

You’d have missed it if you’d blinked, as a mere 30 minutes later at 4:52 p.m. we touched down at Maurice Bishop International Airport in Grenada.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World arrival in Grenada
Maurice Bishop International Airport in Grenada.

One of my favorite things about flying in the Caribbean is oftentimes boarding and deplaning via stairs rather than an airbridge.

For an AvGeek like me, that means getting some great up close and personal shots like this.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World aircraft at Grenada
What a beauty.

Parked a short distance away was an aircraft from a fellow British airline in the form of a Virgin Atlantic Airbus A330.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World Virgin Atlantic at Grenada
A Virgin Atlantic Airbus A330 registered G-VSXY.

And just like that, country number 48 was added to my list.

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World welcome to Grenada
Welcome to Grenada.

If you ever find yourself heading to Grenada, be sure to check out the duty-free on arrival — there were 1 liter (35 ounces) bottles of vodka for just $21 (a bargain compared to U.K. prices)!

British Airways Boeing 777 200 Club World Grenada duty free
Bargain liquor at Grenada Airport.

Final Thoughts

Aside from the state of the cabin and the clear lack of tidying up between flights, my flight from St. Lucia was a perfectly pleasant experience.

I loved the novelty of island hopping in the Caribbean and doing so by flying a huge British Airways Boeing 777-200 for just half an hour.

I’m certainly glad I booked my flight using Avios rather than paying in cash — I’d have been very disappointed given the lack of service. In all honesty, it’s something I hadn’t considered when booking.

If I were to take one of BA’s Caribbean island shuttle services again, I don’t think I’d bother with flying in Club World. It served its purpose for this review and it was a nice novelty.

It was nice not to have to worry about my bag being too heavy and to have more room to stretch out, but other than those 2 things, you might as well just fly in economy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which Caribbean islands does British Airways fly to?

British Airways flies to many Caribbean islands including Antigua, Aruba, Barbados, Grenada, Jamaica, St. Kitts, St. Lucia, and Tobago.

Do you get free food and drink on British Airways flights?

Passengers in all cabins on long-haul flights will receive a meal and drink service. Only passengers in Club Europe (business class) on short-haul flights will be served a full inflight meal while passengers in economy will receive a drink and a small snack.

Can you buy tickets for intra-Caribbean flights on British Airways?

Yes, you can buy tickets for flights on a limited number of intra-Caribbean routes with British Airways.

Daniel Ross's image

About Daniel Ross

Daniel has loved aviation and travel his entire life. He earned a Master of Science in Air Transport Management and has written about travel and aviation in publications like Simple Flying, The Points Guy, and more.

INSIDERS ONLY: UP PULSE

Deluxe Travel Provided by UP Pulse

Get the latest travel tips, crucial news, flight & hotel deal alerts...

Plus — expert strategies to maximize your points & miles by joining our (free) newsletter.

We respect your privacy. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA. Google's privacy policy and terms of service apply.

Deluxe Travel Provided by UP Pulse
DMCA.com Protection Status