Advertiser Disclosure

Many of the credit card offers that appear on this site are from credit card companies from which we receive financial compensation. This compensation may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). However, the credit card information that we publish has been written and evaluated by experts who know these products inside out. We only recommend products we either use ourselves or endorse. This site does not include all credit card companies or all available credit card offers that are on the market. See our advertising policy here where we list advertisers that we work with, and how we make money. You can also review our credit card rating methodology.

My Experience With Extended Warranty Coverage on the Chase Sapphire Reserve Card 

Keri Stooksbury's image
Keri Stooksbury
Keri Stooksbury's image

Keri Stooksbury

Editor-in-Chief

36 Published Articles 3278 Edited Articles

Countries Visited: 47U.S. States Visited: 28

With years of experience in corporate marketing and as the executive director of the American Chamber of Commerce in Qatar, Keri is now editor-in-chief at UP, overseeing daily content operations and r...
Edited by: Jessica Merritt
Jessica Merritt's image

Jessica Merritt

Editor & Content Contributor

94 Published Articles 515 Edited Articles

Countries Visited: 4U.S. States Visited: 23

A long-time points and miles student, Jessica is the former Personal Finance Managing Editor at U.S. News and World Report and is passionate about helping consumers fund their travels for as little ca...
& Stella Shon
Stella Shon's image

Stella Shon

News Managing Editor

99 Published Articles 703 Edited Articles

Countries Visited: 25U.S. States Visited: 22

With a degree in media and journalism, Stella has been in the points and miles game for more than 6 years. She most recently worked as a Corporate Communications Analyst for JetBlue. Find her work in ...

We may be compensated when you click on product links, such as credit cards, from one or more of our advertising partners. Terms apply to the offers below. See our Advertising Policy for more about our partners, how we make money, and our rating methodology. Opinions and recommendations are ours alone.

Homeschooling through the COVID-19 pandemic was a challenge for kids, teachers, parents … and definitely the headphones in my house. The last surviving set of what may have been 10+ headphones purchased throughout my kids’ home learning experience finally just bit the dust. I was quick to order a new pair, knowing that I had extended warranty coverage that would help replace the broken ones.

I experienced a slight hiccup in the claim process — the Chase Sapphire Reserve® I purchased the headphones with nearly 2 years ago was closed. Would the claim still get covered? Learn more about my experience filing an extended warranty claim on my (former) Chase Sapphire Reserve card.

Chase Sapphire Reserve Card — Overview

Chase Sapphire Reserve®
U.P. Rating 
The rating for this card has been determined by our own industry experts who know the in's and out's of credit card products. Bonuses, rewards as well as rates and fees are all taken into account. Compensation from the issuer does not affect our rating. We only recommend products we either use ourselves or endorse.

A top player in the high-end premium travel credit card space that earns 3x points on travel and dining while offering top luxury perks.

Learn More(at Chase's secure site)
A top player in the high-end premium travel credit card space that earns 3x points on travel and dining while offering top luxury perks.
Earn 60,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. That's $900 toward travel when you redeem through Chase Travel℠
60,000 points
$1,200
$550
22.49%-29.49% Variable
Upgraded Points credit ranges are a variation of FICO®Score 8, one of many types of credit scores lenders may use when considering your credit cardapplication.
Excellent (740-850)

If you’re looking for an all-around excellent travel rewards card, the Chase Sapphire Reserve® is one of the best options out there.

The card combines elite travel benefits and perks like airport lounge access, with excellent point earning and redemption options.  Plus it offers top-notch travel insurance protections to keep you covered whether you’re at home or on the road.

Don’t forget the $300 annual travel credit which really helps to reduce the annual fee!

Pros
  • 10x total points on hotels and car rentals when you purchase travel through Chase TravelSM immediately after the first $300 is spent on travel purchases annually
  • 10x points on Lyft purchases March 31, 2025
  • 10x points on Peloton equipment and accessory purchases over $250 through March 31, 2025
Cons
  • $550 annual fee
  • Does not offer any sort of hotel elite status
  • Earn 60,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. That's $900 toward travel when you redeem through Chase Travel℠.
  • $300 Annual Travel Credit as reimbursement for travel purchases charged to your card each account anniversary year.
  • Earn 5x total points on flights and 10x total points on hotels and car rentals when you purchase travel through Chase Travel℠ immediately after the first $300 is spent on travel purchases annually. Earn 3x points on other travel and dining & 1 point per $1 spent on all other purchases
  • Get 50% more value when you redeem your points for travel through Chase Travel℠. For example, 60,000 points are worth $900 toward travel.
  • 1:1 point transfer to leading airline and hotel loyalty programs
  • Access to 1,300+ airport lounges worldwide after an easy, one-time enrollment in Priority Pass™ Select and up to $100 application fee credit every four years for Global Entry, NEXUS, or TSA PreCheck®
  • Count on Trip Cancellation/Interruption Insurance, Auto Rental Collision Damage Waiver, Lost Luggage Insurance and more.
  • Member FDIC
Financial Snapshot
  • APR: 22.49%-29.49% Variable
  • Foreign Transaction Fees: None
Rewards Center

Chase Ultimate Rewards

Extended Warranty Coverage on the Chase Sapphire Reserve Card

When purchasing an eligible item with your Chase Sapphire Reserve card, the manufacturer’s warranty of 3 years or less will be extended for 1 year. The benefit is limited to up to $10,000 per claim and a maximum of $50,000 per account.

Chase’s coverage is an extension of the product’s original warranty terms, and as such, manufacturer’s defects are generally covered, but not instances of damage or theft.

Both U.S. and international purchases (including items given as gifts) are eligible for coverage. According to the Guide to Benefits, the item must have a “valid original manufacturer’s U.S. repair warranty of three (3) years or less, a store–purchased dealer warranty, or an assembler warranty.”

Certain items are not eligible for extended warranty coverage, including computer software, items purchased for resale, professional, or commercial use, medical equipment, motorized vehicles, and used or pre-owned items.

My Experience Filing an Extended Warranty Claim

While Chase’s extended warranty coverage is extensive enough to cover items such as cell phones, TVs, or laptops, my experience has mainly been with smaller-ticket items. Almost all of my previous claims have been kid-related, from broken Nintendo Switch controllers to broken eyeglasses and water bottles.

My son’s most recent pair of headphones, purchased in July 2021, officially died in May 2023. I checked my Amazon order records to see which card I purchased them with and saw that it was my Chase Sapphire Reserve card. At the time, I was an authorized user on my husband’s card, though he closed it in July 2022 (resisting my pleas to downgrade it).

I wasn’t sure if Chase would still entertain the claim from a closed account, so I called the Benefits Administrator, Card Benefit Services, at 800-882-8057 to ask. I was assured that I could still file the claim, so I gathered the documents needed.

How To File a Claim

The first step in filing a claim is to contact the Benefits Administrator as soon as the item fails. You have 90 days from the failure date. You can call 800-882-8057 to get the process started, but I find that it’s easiest to file the claim yourself online at cardbenefitservices.com.

The process of filling out the claim online is quite simple, and the website walks you through the required details:

Card Benefit Services warranty claim step 1
You’ll see that I claimed an amount pre-tax, but my reimbursement amount included tax. Image Credit: Card Benefit Services

Documents To Provide

While not all of the following documents may be required, you should be prepared to send in your:

  • Chase credit card statement indicating the charge
  • Claim form
  • Copy of the itemized sales receipt
  • Copy of the original manufacturer’s written U.S. warranty
  • Description of the item, including details such as the serial number or model number
  • Repair estimate or repair bill, which may be required to identify the cause of the failure or amount for reimbursement

When completing the form online, it is easy to see which documents need to be uploaded and what uploads have been accepted by the system:

Card Benefit Services warranty claim step 2
Image Credit: Card Benefit Services
Hot Tip:

In my experience filing extended warranty claims, the Benefits Administrator often asks for a receipt showing you have replaced the item. You do not need to use the same card for the replacement purchase.

My husband’s Chase account no longer showed the Chase Sapphire Reserve card’s previous statements, so had him send a Secure Message through Chase.com (also available through the Chase app) asking for a copy of the statement. I had pinpointed the date of purchase via my Amazon receipt, so he asked for the statement for the date range that covered that period. Unfortunately, Chase could not send this statement electronically, so we had to wait for a physical copy to be mailed.

After submitting all required documentation, Card Benefit Services may contact you for additional information or documentation to complete your claim. I have been filing claims for several years, and this claim was the first where I was asked via email for a written copy of the warranty:

Card Benefit Services warranty request
Image Credit: Card Benefit Services

The next step was locating the warranty for the headphones. I no longer had the original packaging, and there didn’t seem to be a manufacturer’s website that I could find. It dawned on me that this item might not even have a warranty (cue the facepalm).

To research this further, I contacted the seller via Amazon. I was pleased to learn that the headphones had a 1-year warranty and that the claim would fall within the extended warranty period of 1 additional year beyond the original warranty. The screenshot of the manufacturer’s written response below is what I submitted with my claim:

Amazon seller conversation
Image Credit: Amazon
Bottom Line:

Having all of your documents ready and available can certainly help expedite the approval process.

Reimbursement

I filed the claim on June 18, 2023, and received confirmation of approval (as well as the money transferred to my checking account) on June 22, 2023 — just 4 days from submittal to cash in hand!

The Benefit Administrator has the discretion to replace or repair the item for no more than what you originally paid for the item. In this example, I paid $9.79 (with tax) for the original headphones and replaced them with new headphones that cost $13.46, but I was only reimbursed the original $9.79.

Card Benefit Services warranty claim approved
Image Credit: Card Benefit Services

Card Benefit Services offers direct payments to debit cards, via bank transfer (ACH), or via check. You will not be reimbursed back to the credit card you paid for the claimed item with.

Best Cards With Extended Warranty Coverage

Extended warranty coverage is a benefit included with many premium and mid-tier credit cards. Should an item you’ve purchased fail, check your card’s Guide to Benefits to see what specific coverage may or may not be included with your card.

Here are some of our favorite cards with extended warranty coverage, listed by issuer:

SCROLL FOR MORE

Issuer

Examples of Cards With Coverage

Extended Warranty Coverage and Limits

American Express

Manufacturers’ warranties of 5 years or less are extended by 1 year; up to $10,000 per claim, up to $50,000 per account

Capital One

Manufacturers’ warranties of 3 years or less are extended by 1 additional year; up to $10,000 per claim, up to $50,000 per account

Chase

Manufacturers’ warranties of 3 years or less are extended by 1 year; up to $10,000 per claim, up to $50,000 per account

Citi

Manufacturers’ warranties of 5 years or less are extended by up to 24 months, for a maximum of 7 years total; up to $10,000 per claim

* Benefit only available to accounts approved for the Visa Signature card, subject to terms, conditions, and exclusions in the Visa Signature Guide to Benefits. Benefit is not available on Visa Platinum cards.

Final Thoughts

Was it worth a few minutes of my time to get just a few bucks back? Well, why not? Considering that premium credit cards can have annual fees upwards of $700, any time I use a card’s ancillary benefits I get that much more value from its annual fee. Utilizing the Chase Sapphire Reserve card’s benefits, particularly its travel protections and purchase protections, has saved me thousands of dollars over the life of the card.

Knowing what purchase protections your card may have should also help you determine which card to use for a purchase that may need extended warranty coverage, like electronics, appliances, tools, or sporting equipment. Making your purchase online, when possible, also helps keep a record of your purchase should you need to track down previous orders or receipts for filing a claim.


For the extended warranty benefit of The Platinum Card® from American Express, when an American Express® card member charges a covered purchase to an eligible card, extended warranty can provide up to one extra year added to the original manufacturer’s warranty. Applies to warranties of five (5) years or less. Coverage is up to the actual amount charged to your card for the item up to a maximum of $10,000; not to exceed $50,000 per card member account per calendar year. Eligibility and benefit level varies by card. Terms, conditions and limitations apply. Please visit americanexpress.com/benefitsguide for more details. Underwritten by AMEX Assurance Company.

For the extended warranty benefit of the American Express® Gold Card, when an American Express® card member charges a covered purchase to an eligible card, extended warranty can provide up to one extra year added to the original manufacturer’s warranty. Applies to warranties of five (5) years or less. Coverage is up to the actual amount charged to your card for the item up to a maximum of $10,000; not to exceed $50,000 per card member account per calendar year. Eligibility and benefit level varies by card. Terms, conditions and limitations apply. Please visit americanexpress.com/benefitsguide for more details. Underwritten by AMEX Assurance Company.

For the extended warranty benefit of The Business Platinum Card® from American Express, when an American Express® card member charges a covered purchase to an eligible card, extended warranty can provide up to one extra year added to the original manufacturer’s warranty. Applies to warranties of five (5) years or less. Coverage is up to the actual amount charged to your card for the item up to a maximum of $10,000; not to exceed $50,000 per card member account per calendar year. Eligibility and benefit level varies by card. Terms, conditions and limitations apply. Please visit americanexpress.com/benefitsguide for more details. Underwritten by AMEX Assurance Company.

For Capital One products listed on this page, some of the above benefits are provided by Visa® or Mastercard® and may vary by product. See the respective Guide to Benefits for details, as terms and exclusions apply.

The information regarding the Capital One VentureOne Rewards Credit Card was independently collected by Upgraded Points and not provided nor reviewed by the issuer.
The information regarding the Capital One Venture Rewards Credit Card was independently collected by Upgraded Points and not provided nor reviewed by the issuer.
The information regarding the Capital One Venture X Rewards Credit Card was independently collected by Upgraded Points and not provided nor reviewed by the issuer.
The information regarding the Citi Premier® Card has expired and the card is no longer open to applicants.

For rates and fees of The Platinum Card® from American Express, click here.
For rates and fees of the American Express® Gold Card, click here.
For rates and fees of The Business Platinum Card® from American Express, click here.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the Chase Sapphire Reserve card offer extended warranty coverage on purchases?

Yes, the Chase Sapphire Reserve card’s extended warranty coverage extended manufacturers’ warranties of 3 years or less by 1 year. Limits are up to $10,000 per item and up to $50,000 per account.

How do I claim my Chase extended warranty?

To start filing your claim, you can call 800-882-8057 or file the claim online at cardbenefitservices.com.

Does the Chase Sapphire Reserve card cover price protection?

The Chase Sapphire Reserve card does not offer price protection as a benefit. However, its purchase protection and extended warranty coverage are useful benefits.

Does Chase's extended warranty cover accidental damage?

Chase’s extended warranty coverage generally covers manufacturer’s defects and excludes instances of damage or theft. If your Chase card includes purchase protection, you may have coverage for accidental damage.

Keri Stooksbury's image

About Keri Stooksbury

With years of experience in corporate marketing and with a nonprofit, Keri is now editor-in-chief at UP, overseeing daily content operations and reviewing thousands of UP articles in the process.

INSIDERS ONLY: UP PULSE

Deluxe Travel Provided by UP Pulse

Get the latest travel tips, crucial news, flight & hotel deal alerts...

Plus — expert strategies to maximize your points & miles by joining our (free) newsletter.

We respect your privacy. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA. Google's privacy policy  and terms of service  apply.

Deluxe Travel Provided by UP Pulse
DMCA.com Protection Status