JetBlue Airways Review – Amenities, Baggage Fees, Seats, Customer Service & More

JetBlue Plane
12

We may be compensated when you click on links from one or more of our advertising partners. Opinions and recommendations are ours alone. Terms apply to offers below. See our Advertiser Disclosure for more details.

JetBlue hasn’t been around as long as some of its competitors but has grown to be one of the most popular U.S. airlines. Operating since 2000 with the goal of “bringing humanity back to air travel,” JetBlue has won quite a few awards, including a number in the customer satisfaction realm.

In this review, we aim to take a look at JetBlue from the customer’s perspective. We’re answering your questions, such as:

  • What are JetBlue’s baggage policies like?
  • Will I get snacks on JetBlue?
  • Does JetBlue have Wi-Fi?
  • …and a whole lot more!

We’ll outline basic company info, ticketing options, how to earn TrueBlue points, baggage fees and other extras, seat specs, inflight amenities, and consumer satisfaction information.

Read on to find out more about JetBlue Airways!

Basic Info

Airline: JetBlue Airways

Alliance: none

Category: Low-cost airline

Frequent Flyer Program: JetBlue TrueBlue

Tag Line: You Above All; Inspiring Humanity

About/Mission Statement: “JetBlue Airways exists to provide superior service in every aspect of our customer’s air travel experience… JetBlue Airways is dedicated to inspiring humanity. We strive to make every part of your experience as simple and as pleasant as possible.” (source)

Fleet: 235

Main Hub: John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK)

Daily Departures: 1,000+

Destinations: 90+ (North, Central, and South America, including the Caribbean)

JetBlue Ticketing Options

While JetBlue is considered a low-cost carrier, there’s nothing minimal about the basic flight experience itself! JetBlue includes brand-name snacks, entertainment, power outlets, and more on all its flights. You will, however, pay extra for checked bags, just like with other low-cost carriers.

JetBlue offers 5 fare options:

  • Blue Basic
  • Blue
  • Blue Plus
  • Blue Extra
  • Mint (available on selected coast-to-coast, Latin American, and Caribbean routes; launching in 2021 to London)

So How Do These 5 Fares Differ?

Blue BasicBlueBlue PlusBlue ExtraMint
Carry-On Bag01111
Personal Item Included11111
Checked Bag(s) Included00102
Changes/CancellationsBookings thru May 31, 2021: No fee

Bookings June 1, 2021, or later permitted with fee:
$100 (U.S., Caribbean, Mexico, Central America)
$200 (other routes)

No feeNo feeNo feeNo fee
Same-Day Switches (Waived for Mosaic Members)$75 fee$75 fee$75 feeIncluded$75 fee
Same-Day Standby$75 fee$75 fee$75 feeIncluded$75 fee
Advance Seat SelectionAdditional fee >24 hours in advance
$5 to $25 each way
IncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
BoardingFinalGeneralGeneralEarlyEarly
Even More SpeedAdditional feeAdditional feeAdditional feeIncludedIncluded
Base TrueBlue Points per $113333
TrueBlue Online Booking Bonus per $113333

Hot Tip: In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, if you have a JetBlue flight scheduled anytime through May 31, 2021, you’ll be able to change or cancel it without a fee

Blue Basic: With Blue Basic, you get a personal item but no checked bag or carry-on. Additionally, you get all of the basic perks allotted to all JetBlue flights like great legroom, snacks, Wi-Fi, movies (flights 2+ hours), etc. As the chart shows, you will pay for any changes made to your itinerary (waived through May 31, 2021) and you are eligible to earn 1 TrueBlue point per dollar.

Blue: If you’re traveling light, Blue is a standard fare that provides a carry-on and a personal item. The benefit over Blue Basic is that passengers don’t pay change or cancellation fees and the fare includes seat selection. With Blue and all fares above, passengers earn 3 TrueBlue points per dollar.

Blue Plus: Blue Plus passengers receive 1 checked bag with their ticket. All other benefits are the same as Blue.

Blue Extra: Blue Extra is suitable for passengers traveling light with a carry-on and personal item included. Additional benefits include same-day switches and standby, early boarding, and Even More Speed.

Mint Experience: JetBlue Mint is clearly the most glamorous ticket option, but it’s only available on selected flights.

With JetBlue’s Mint Experience, customers are allowed 2 checked bags, but will not earn additional bonus points over the standard 3 per dollar spent booking online.

That being said, passengers flying Mint get the added benefits of dedicated check-in counters, expedited security (where available), early boarding, lie-flat seats, artisanal dining, priority baggage, 17-inch flat-screen TVs, amenity kits, and more.

JetBlue Mint Routes
JetBlue Mint routes. Image Credit: JetBlue

Earning TrueBlue Points

There are plenty of ways to earn JetBlue TrueBlue points, but the quickest and most efficient way is through credit card sign-ups and spending. Here’s the good news: there are a couple of options to choose from. Plus, you then have the option of earning extra points through category bonuses!

Need even more points? Try shopping via JetBlue’s portal, dining out with JetBlue’s dining program, or utilizing JetBlue for other travel, car rentals, partner hotels, etc.

You can also earn TrueBlue points flying with partner airlines, including Hawaiian Airlines, Icelandair, Singapore Airlines, and South African Airlines, however, the only airline you can redeem TrueBlue points with (apart from JetBlue) is Hawaiian Airlines.

A Bit More About TrueBlue 

You can learn more about Mosaic status, the JetPaws program, JetBlue’s innovative customer interaction techniques (including loyalty badges), and more in our JetBlue TrueBlue review.

JetBlue Baggage & Other Fees/Add-Ons

JetBlue is a low-cost airline, so while some perks are included, you will find certain extra fees and charges here and there. As with any other low-cost airline, considering the add-ons in advance will keep you from undue disappointment once you reach the final purchase page for your fare.

Baggage Fees

While the airline does charge for bags if customers choose Blue Basic or Blue Extra, JetBlue’s baggage policy is pretty straightforward.

FareFirst BagSecond Bag3+ Bags
Blue Basic$35$45$150
Blue$35$45$150
Blue PlusFREE$45$150
Blue Extra$35$45$150
MintFREEFREE$150

JetBlue passengers should consider the following size/weight restrictions for luggage:

  • Personal Item: 17 x 13 x 8 inches; weight limit undisclosed
  • Carry-On: 22 x 14 x 9 inches; weight limit undisclosed
  • Checked Bag: 62 inches (max linear dimensions); 50 pounds

Hot Tip: From July 20, 2021, passengers traveling Blue, Blue Plus, Blue Extra, and Mint or who purchase Even More Space will be guaranteed their carry-on bags in the cabin (on domestic flights). In the unlikely event that the bag must be checked at the gate, passengers will receive a $25 credit towards a future flight within 12 months.

Overweight Bag: $150 per bag (51 to 99 pounds)

Oversized Bag: $150 per bag (63 to 80 inches total linear dimensions)

If a bag is overweight and oversized, note that both fees will apply.

JetBlue does have some special considerations relating to sporting equipment. Generally, certain pieces of equipment can count as one of your checked bags without being charged oversized fees.

Other Fees & Add-Ons

A number of the added fees can be seen in the fare chart above. In an effort to be thorough, we’ve also listed them below, in addition to some other add-on expenses not shown above.

“Even More” Space (seats): starting at $10 each way

“Even More” Speed (expedited security): starting at $10 (select airports)

Seat Selection: $5 to $25 each way

Cancellation Fee: Free (through May 31, 2021)

Same-Day Change Fee: $75 (waived for Mosaic members)

Admin Fee for Bookings or Changes by Phone: $25

Unaccompanied Minor: $100

Pet Fee: $125

Hot Tip: Need to cancel? Check out this guide to canceling your JetBlue flight.

How To Avoid Paying Excess JetBlue Fees & Expenses

The JetBlue Plus Card comes with many perks, such as earning 6 points per dollar spent on JetBlue purchases. But if you’re looking to avoid paying excess fees, the card also gets you:

  • 50% savings on eligible inflight purchases like cocktails and food
  • First checked bag free for the primary cardmember and up to 3 companions on the same reservation (when booked using The JetBlue Plus card)

If you’re flying JetBlue regularly, these savings will really add up!

JetBlue Seat Specs & Inflight Amenities

As it turns out, the general feedback about flying JetBlue is pretty darned positive. So what will your inflight experience look like?

JetBlue Refurbished Cabin
Image Credit: JetBlue

Seat Specs

When it comes to comfort, JetBlue claims to have the widest seats and most legroom in coach (based on average seat width/pitch across the industry).

AircraftTotal SeatsEconomyEven More SpaceMint StandardMint Suite
Airbus A320150108
Pitch: 34″
Width: 17.8″
42
Pitch: 38″ to 39″
Width: 17.8″
n/an/a
Airbus A320 V2162120
Pitch: 32″
Width: 18.4″
42
Pitch: 35″ to 38″
Width: 18.4″
n/an/a
Airbus A321
(Mint)
159102
Pitch: 33″
Width: 18″
41
Pitch: 37″ to 41″
Width: 18″
12
Pitch/Bed: 58″/80″
Width: 20.5″
4
Pitch/Bed: 60″/80″
Width: 22″
Airbus A321
(non-Mint)
200158
Pitch: 32″
Width: 18″
42
Pitch: 37″ to 41″
Width: 18″
n/an/a
Airbus A321neo200158
Pitch: 32″
Width: 18″
42
Pitch: 35″ to 38″
Width: 18″
n/an/a
Embraer E-19010084
Pitch: 32″
Width: 18.25″
16
Pitch: 39″
Width: 18.25″
n/an/a

If you’re interested in finding the best seat on the plane, SeatGuru has some great insights!

JetBlue Economy Seats 

JetBlue has refreshed some of its A321 aircraft with its new Mint Suites, Mint Studios, and restyled seating in economy. The airline is also in the middle of restyling its fleet of A320s but this has been held up by the COVID-19 pandemic.

JetBlue A320 Cabin Restyling
Image Credit: JetBlue

With the refresh comes a slight reduction in pitch, but JetBlue claims with its new ergonomic seats that it won’t feel like you’ve lost the inches. The new seats also come with 10.1-inch touchscreen TVs.

JetBlue New A320 Seating
JetBlue A320 cabin restyling. Image Credit: JetBlue

The refresh also brings power outlets (standard plug and USB) to every economy seat, whereas, the current A320 series and the E-190 series do not have power outlets.

JetBlue Mint Seats

With the new Mint Studio, JetBlue claims to have the largest bed and TV on a U.S. airline with an extra seat to work and entertain. The Mint Suites all have life-flat beds, direct aisle access, and a sliding privacy door.

JetBlue Mint Suite
JetBlue Mint Suite. Image Credit: JetBlue
JetBlue Mint Studio
JetBlue Mint Studio. Image Credit: JetBlue

JetBlue Inflight Amenities

Economy

For a low-cost airline, JetBlue certainly does inflight cabin service right. Each economy ticket comes with the following included amenities:

  • Entire fleet equipped with FlyFi, JetBlue’s gate-to-gate Wi-Fi service available on flights within the contiguous U.S.
  • Library of on-demand movies, TV shows, live Direct TV, and Sirius XM radio on selected flights
  • Free unlimited brand-name snacks and soft drinks

Economy customers can also opt for additional paid snacks/beverages:

  • EatUp Boxes: A grouping of upgraded snacks for $9
  • EatUp Cafe: Slightly more substantial foods like small sandwiches, salads, etc. for $10 to $12
  • Beer, wine, and spirits: $8

Mint Experience

Mint Experience customers have a variety of upgraded inflight amenities served by specially trained Mint Staff:

  • Entire fleet equipped with FlyFi, JetBlue’s gate-to-gate Wi-Fi service on flights within the contiguous U.S.
  • Library of on-demand movies, TV shows, 100+ Direct TV channels, 100+ Sirius XM radio channels on selected flights
  • Blanket, pillow, and sleep kit designed by Tuft & Needle
  • Custom Master & Dynamic’s MH40 noise-isolating headphones
  • Wellness kits from Wanderfuel
  • Cocktails and artisan wines
  • Small plates and desserts
  • Treats from NYC’s Hu
JetBlue - Mint Service
Specially trained staff members cater to Mint Experience passengers. Image Credit: JetBlue

Hot Tip: Here’s more in-depth information on JetBlue’s boarding groups and process.

JetBlue Customer Satisfaction

JetBlue has a very positive history when it comes to customer satisfaction. In fact, JetBlue Airways has taken the top spot in the J.D. Power North America Airline Satisfaction Study 13 times — an incredible feat!

Of course, you’ll still find complaints — customers can’t be happy all the time — but JetBlue certainly has fewer than most!

Consumer Rankings, Ratings, Etc.

AQR (Airline Quality Ranking): 6 of 12 largest U.S. carriers

Skytrax Ranking: 4-Star Airline

Skytrax Customer Rating: 5/10 (of 839 reviews)

Kayak Customer Rating: 8.1/10 (of 19,382 reviews; Kayak deems this rating “excellent”)

Tripadvisor Airline Review Rating: 4/5 (of 17,580 reviews)

Recent Awards

Here are just a few accolades JetBlue Airways has been awarded:

  • Top Low-Cost Airline in the J.D. Power North America Airline Satisfaction Study; top airline for 13 years
  • Tripadvisor: Best Regional Business Class in North America 2019
  • Travel & Leisure Best Awards 2019: Number 1 Domestic Airline

Most Common Complaints

While JetBlue consistently leads the pack when it comes to customer satisfaction, there will always be complaints. So where does the majority stem from?

The DOT Air Travel Consumer Report ranked JetBlue 11th best (of 16 major U.S. carriers) relating to consumer complaints in October 2020. While 11th best may not seem great, that’s only 7.17 complaints per 100,000 enplanements. This was significantly higher than the complaints received in October 2019, where JetBlue received 0.95 complaints per 100,000 enplanements; however, COVID-19 has had an impact on the data.

(These reported numbers may sound low, so we’ll explain a bit further. The DOT report states these statistics come from data compiled by the OAEP’s Aviation Consumer Protection Division. So, the above numbers are provided keeping in mind the majority of people aren’t filing official complaints but utilizing social media and the like to grumble… see consumer rankings/ratings above.)

The same DOT analysis ranks JetBlue 10th out of 16 when it comes to mishandled baggage in October 2020 with 3.22 mishandled bags per 100,000 enplanements. Although JetBlue sits at the lower end of the scale, this is down from 4.99 mishandled bags per 100,000 enplanements in October 2019.

Final Thoughts

JetBlue Cabin Crew Love
Image Credit: JetBlue

All in all, it’s tough to beat JetBlue Airways when looking for an enjoyable low-cost airline experience.

JetBlue includes quite a few standard inflight economy perks and provides an impressive “business class” product with its Mint Experience. Additionally, it has a fairly decent frequent flyer program that’s built for optimal user interaction. Plus, JetBlue proves its worth with high consumer ratings, tons of positive reviews, and countless awards.


The information regarding the JetBlue Plus Card was independently collected and not provided nor reviewed by the issuer. 


Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to pick a seat on JetBlue?

Seat selection costs $5 to $25 each way for passengers traveling on a Blue Basic ticket that would like to select their seats more than 24 hours before the flight.

Is JetBlue owned by Delta?

JetBlue is owned by JetBlue Airways Corporation, not by Delta, and began operations in 2000.

What happens if I don't choose a seat on JetBlue?

If you choose not to select a seat online, you will be automatically assigned a seat when checking in.

Is JetBlue a bad airline?

JetBlue is a low-cost airline that is highly rated across many review sites such as Tripadvisor (rated excellent) and Kayak (also rated excellent).

Dr. Erin Miller

About Dr. Erin Miller

Erin currently maintains her status as Alex's adventure-seeking partner-in-crime and contributes to Upgraded Points through in-depth content creation & relationship management.
She caught the travel bug just after high school when her grandmother took her on a two-week, whirlwind trip around Europe. That was that - she's been gallivanting around the globe ever since (26 countries & counting)!

Travel prices are about to surge from pent-up demand.

Use this points strategy to lock in pennies-on-the-dollar pricing in 2021, all without being a frequent flyer...

How do I only pay $30 to go to Hawaii, $200 for business class to Asia or just $150 to Europe?

Discover the real-life strategies that anyone can use to enjoy limitless travel (even on a limited budget!)

Just sign up below and I’ll send you the Limitless Travel Playbook instantly:

We respect your privacy. Please view our privacy policy here.

Disclaimer: Any comments listed below are not from the bank advertiser, nor have they been reviewed or approved by them. No responsibility will be taken by the bank advertiser for these comments.

12 comments

  1. Chatdao hinklay February 1, 2019

    I lost a receipt for paid luggage. How can i get this by email?
    I need to sent to my company.
    My flight is B6 478 Jax-JFK 29 Nov 18

    Reply

    • Hello Chatdao. Please be advised that we are not JetBlue Airways. We are a blog specializing in miles and points related content. You will want to contact JetBlue directly to request a copy of your luggage receipt. 1 800-861-3372.

      Reply

  2. Jose R Franco June 15, 2019

    I’ve been flying Jetblue for quite a while now and I LOVE this airline, but it wasn’t until my last trip to Puerto Rico that JetBlue showed me what a great company it is. I flew to Puerto Rico to help with my father-in-law, he passed while I was there so I needed to stay a few extra days. I called customer service and they changed my flight at no extra charge, I even received a credit. On my day of travel, I missed my flight (which was my fault) and they booked me on the next flight out, again at no extra cost. They also changed my wife, my sister-in-law and her daughters’ flight, again at no extra cost. We all appreciated this gesture very much at a time in need. I can only say good things about the flight crew, all very professional, attentive and courteous and attentive. Thank you to JetBlue and all of their staff.

    Reply

    • Hi Jose,

      While we are not affiliated with the airline JetBlue, we are so happy to hear that you had such a positive experience with them! It sounds like they really came through for you in your time of need! Thank you for sharing this story with us and thanks for your readership!

      Reply

  3. So my flight was delayed for 3 hours. When it finally boarded, all I asked the attendant DEVIN was what drinks would be comped. She started yelling at me telling me I was being ignorant and loud and using profanity.

    Completely untrue — I boarded that plane with my headphones on. Even the woman next to me was surprised and upset for me. So DEVIN called the cops when we landed. They did nothing because she’s a liar.

    Jet Blue, you need to fire this rude attendant asap. I would like an apology from her.

    July 1, 2019, flight #647

    Reply

    • Hi Riley, please be advised we are not JetBlue. We are Upgraded Points, a website that has simply written a review here of JetBlue.

      While we’re sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience, as we are not JetBlue, we cannot respond to or address your complaint, nor do we have the ability to contact this employee. We suggest you report your concerns to JetBlue directly via their customer service line or their Twitter/Facebook accounts — airlines generally tend to respond a bit more reliably to those methods of contact.

      Reply

  4. Martha Uribe October 20, 2020

    Excellent airline, flights leave on time. I recommend it and will always do my domestic flights with this airline. Thanks JetBlue.

    Reply

  5. Cynthia Hunt May 15, 2021

    I accidentally canceled my flight and no one could or would help me. They put my money in a travel bank account and said it stays there a year, and if I qualify I might get my money back at end of the year. No guarantee. Biggest BS I’ve ever heard.

    Reply

    • Jim Martin July 3, 2021

      Cynthia, please read the terms and conditions if a fare is non-refundable it is put in a Travel Bank for you to use up to a year after the flight. It is right there when you book the reservation.

      Reply

  6. Nataliya Kerman May 30, 2021

    Will never fly again. Worst flight I have ever had.

    Reply

  7. zina petrossian August 3, 2021

    I need to cancel our flight to the Bahamas. What do I do? We are 2 senior citizen couples and are cancelling all our trips. I tried all morning to call JetBlue, button luck! I tried to cancel on the internet but could not. Please let me know what I should do? We also purchased Allianz global insurance for our tickets.

    Reply

    • Hi Zina,

      Since we are a travel information website, and have no affiliation with JetBlue, I am afraid I would not be able to help you cancel your tickets. If trying to cancel managing the booking through the JetBlue website is not working, then your only option would be to call the JetBlue customer service team. I know many airlines are experiencing long hold times right now, but unfortunately, that would be your only recourse.

      Reply

Any thoughts or questions? Comment below!

Advertiser Disclosure

Many of the credit card offers that appear on this site are from credit card companies from which we receive financial compensation. This compensation may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). However, the credit card information that we publish has been written by experts who know these products inside out, and what we recommend is what we would (or already) use ourselves. This site does not include all credit card companies or all available credit card offers that are on the market. Click here to see a list of advertisers that we work with.